Support local journalism by subscribing today! Click Here to see our current offers.

There was little change in the results of the June 9 primary election, at least in Bowman County.

According to Bowman County Auditor Sandi Tivis, a canvassing board reviewed the local unofficial results Monday.

“They’ll process any ballots that were not processed on election night due to irregularities. After the meeting, we certify the election results to the Secretary of State’s office and the state has their certification this Friday, after which all the election results become 100 percent certified,” she said before her meeting with the canvasing board.

At the local level, in the city it was Lyn James easily winning with more than 96 percent of the vote for her to stay on as the commission president.

In the vote for the two City Commissioner positions Myron Tiger Vail edged Ryan Shear by a 379-338 margin.

Ed Kvaale was the only candidate on the ballot for the Park Board Commissioner, winning easily with 366 votes (91.96%).

Measure 1 on the ballot was for the City of Bowman to decide if the minutes should be published in the official city newspaper. The measure passed easily with 93.27 percent approval.

Bowman County School District

Trevor Kulseth easily won the election for the Bowman County School Board representative from the Bowman area with just over 99 percent of the vote.

The contest for two Rhame representatives on the school board was easily decided with Amy Fischer edging Andrea Bowman by 35 votes (51.10% to 48.35%).

Measure 1 on the school district ballot was for the district to decide if the records of the school board meetings should be published in the official county newspaper for the next two years. The measure passed easily by a 685 to 45-vote margin.

Bowman County

Rick Braaten, Jerry Jeffers and Pine Abrahamson easily won the three positions for county commissioners on the ballot.

Braaten was the top choice by voters with 760 (34.75%), while Jeffers had 708 (32.37%) and Pine A. Abrahamson finished with 686 votes (31.37%).


Statewide, among Republicans, the governor easily won over his primary challenger with the Doug Burgum-Brent Sanford ticket getting nearly 90 percent of the votes. The challengers, Michael Coachman and Joel Hylden had just over 10 percent of the votes.

The Democratic-Non Partisan League voters easily selected Killdeer veterinarian Shelley Lenz and her running mate Ben Vig to challenge the governor in November.

DuWayne Hendrickson and Joshua Voytek will be the Libertarian candidates for governor and lieutenant governor.

The Republicans barely chose Thomas Beadle over Daniel Johnston by a 52.38% to 47.40% margin in the race for state treasurer, which means Beadle will meet Mark Haugen, the Democratic-Non Partisan League winner in November.

In the race for insurance commissioner, two candidates will face off in November after each won their primaries with more than 99 percent of the votes.

It will be Jon Godfread (Republican) meeting Travisia Martin (Democratic-Non Partisan League) in November.


Rep. Kelly Armstrong finished with more than 99 percent of the Republican vote to retain his position in the U.S. Congress in the June 9 primary. His opponents will be Zach Raknerud (Democratic-NPL) and Steven James Peterson (Libertarian).

Latest E-Edition

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

1. Be Civil. No bullying, name calling, or insults.
2. Keep it Clean and Be Nice. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
3. Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
4. Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
5. Be Proactive. Let us know of abusive posts. Multiple reports will take a comment offline.
6. Stay On Topic. Any comment that is not related to the original post will be deleted.
7. Abuse of these rules will result in the thread being disabled, comments denied, and/or user blocked.