Support local journalism by subscribing today! Click Here to see our current offers.

The 2019-2020 junior high rodeo season was one everyone will never forget. The season started out with fall rodeos in Ray, Richardton, and Watford City. Each of these communities held two junior high rodeos, for a total of six fall rodeos.

The spring rodeos unfortunately did not happen because of the COVID crisis. These rodeos were to be held in Valley City, Fargo, and the State Finals in Bowman.

Along with the cancellation of the spring rodeos, the National Junior High Rodeo Finals to be held in Des Moines, IA where the top four of each event qualify to compete, was also cancelled.  

It was voted by the North Dakota Junior High Rodeo Board, to still go ahead and award the top four finishers in the state based on the fall rodeos that they competed in. On June 3, a virtual awards ceremony was held celebrating their accomplishments.

Below are the members of the Bowman Rodeo Club that ended up in the top four of the state.

"We are very proud of the hard work that these kids put in throughout their season. We have a very talented group of rodeo athletes coming up through the ranks. We look forward to hopefully getting rodeo back to normal this fall with the first junior high rodeo scheduled for August 8-9 in Bismarck, ND."

Tie Down Roping

Reserve Champion Riggs Rotenberger, Ludlow, SD

Team Roping

Reserve Champions Riggs Rotenberger, Ludlow SD and Kolby Sperry, Beach, ND

Bareback Riding

3rd Place – Riggs Rotenberger, Ludlow, SD

Ribbon Roping

State Champions Kolby Sperry, Beach, ND and Kenzie Homelvig, Rhame, ND

4th place – Riggs Rotenberger, Ludlow, SD and Maklain Kleeman, Killdeer, ND

Pole Bending

State Champion Carlee Miller, Bowman, ND

Girls Goat Tying

State Champion Teagan Homelvig, Rhame, ND

Reserve State Champion Kenzie Homelivg, Rhame, ND

Girls Breakaway

4th place Kenzie Homelvig, Rhame, ND

Chute Dogging

State Champion Riggs Rotenberger, Ludlow, SD

Boys Goat Tying

Reserve Champion Trevor Andrews, Bowman, ND

3rd place – Riggs Rotenberger, Ludlow, SD

Barrel Racing

State Champion Carlee Miller, Bowman, ND

4th place – Kenzie Homelvig, Rhame, ND

Boys All-Around

Riggs Rotenberger, Ludlow, SD

Girls All-Around

Kenzie Homelvig, Rhame, ND

Reserve All-Around

Carlee Miller, Bowman, ND

Girls Rookie of the Year

Carlee Miller, Bowman, ND

Latest E-Edition

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

1. Be Civil. No bullying, name calling, or insults.
2. Keep it Clean and Be Nice. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
3. Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
4. Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
5. Be Proactive. Let us know of abusive posts. Multiple reports will take a comment offline.
6. Stay On Topic. Any comment that is not related to the original post will be deleted.
7. Abuse of these rules will result in the thread being disabled, comments denied, and/or user blocked.